As Football Season Ends I Think of My Father

5 Feb

My father Frank Hester

As this year’s football season ends with a Super Bowl XLVI rematch between the New England Patriots vs. New York Giants, I can’t help but think of my father and what was his football career. He was a sensation from the first time he put on cleats in the small town of Clinton, Oklahoma. When he was growing up, Clinton had one school for all grade levels. He graduated one year before they built what is known today as the ‘Tornado Dome.’

SCSC Varsity Letterman Sweater

SCSC Varsity Sweater

Last summer, my family accompanied him to his school reunion (which turned into an impromptu family reunion) and stories about my father being an All-State and All-Conference player are still told today. He has football records that are unbroken at Clinton High School and at Southern Colorado State College (SCSC, then called the Indians) and now Colorado State University–Pueblo home of the ThunderWolves. Where he lettered  all four years and received his varsity sweater.

Somewhere in my mother’s garage are his Letterman jackets – one is from a bowl game and the other is All-Conference along with multiple letters of interest from the NFL (if I can find the jackets and letters, I’ll add images.)  Unfortunately, the Vietnam War happened.

Here are some photos my mom recently brought back from Colorado.  His “Potential All-American” article ends with the mention of my parent’s wedding.

Thank you for reading.

Adrienne xo

4 Responses to “As Football Season Ends I Think of My Father”

  1. Lonniejr 02/09/2012 at 6:34 am #

    That kool always hold on to the memories.

  2. Bill Casady 08/28/2014 at 1:05 pm #

    I saw your dad play in the 1959 Clinton @ Weatherford game (I was only a seventh grader). I never forgot seeing the Frankie Hester/Charles Pascher faceoff, after all the hype leading up to the game. Pascher came out with a broken leg, but your dad was awesome. This response is a couple of years late; I was just remembering old times, and thought I’d google your dad. Hope you are all well.

    • Adrienne N Hester 08/28/2014 at 3:06 pm #

      Thank you Bill. I will tell my dad and give him your email. He’s into playing golf now. I hope you are doing well too!

Leave a Reply

